Sri Lanka 2015

Hey all!

So I managed to squeeze a week off work (effectively giving me 9 days off work) to fly to Sri Lanka (home!), see family and friends and make use of my SLR a little more. Flew out on the 27th Nov Friday morning for the whole day via Qatar and arrived on Saturday. It was great to see family and then met up with friends by the beach in Wellawatte where we used to hang out in the old days (you can actually skip to the gallery below!).

As this was such a short visit, I had to make myself feel like I’ve done loads for the week. So I plan this whale watching trip in Mirissa (Down south) which is a well equipped boat tour leaving at 7 in the morning from Mirissa Naval Quarters/ Harbour. We got to see some dolphins, flying fish and a whale. If you’re lucky, you’ll see more whales. We couldn’t spot many and therefore I did not spend time clicking away and wasting my opportunity to get glimpses of this majestic creature. Everyone apart from the crew and my group of 5 were tourists from abroad and it was great to see so much diversity in Sri Lanka 🙂

Next up was Yala National Park. I called my old safari operator who also happens to have his own guest house (JC Guest) close to Yala. This also includes a Cabana. Very nice personality he is. I would recommend anyone. The prices are cheap too. At the end of the safari, he even served us Tea in a nice warm pot with tea-cake at the Cabana, with dimmed lights. The ambience was soothing to end the tiring day.

(The photo sets may need to be viewed separately if viewing using next keys)

Leave a comment